​​

The Ministry of Defence undertakes the implementation of Oman defence policy, based on the enlightened thought and the Royal directives of His Majesty Sultan Haitham bin Tariq, the Supreme Commander - may God protect him - through well-thought-out plans and conscious planning that enable Sultan Armed Forces (SAF) to play its role in the country’s comprehensive development process. This comes in the belief that development must have an impenetrable fence that protects and prepares it for prosperity and progress, and that the pillars of security, safety, stability and peace are contingent on building a military force at a high level of efficiency and readiness to be capable of defending the homeland and preserving its sanctities.

His Majesty the Sultan has been very keen - may God protect him - since he took the reins of power in the country on 11 January 2020 – to take care of His Armed Forces to ensure that it continues to perform the sacred duties with high combat efficiency, according to a rule that depends primarily on building and rehabilitating of human being in the best way to fulfill their role in these forces that have been restructured according to contemporary modern foundations within the framework of national strategic constants to keep pace with the requirements of the third millennium and the challenges of the twenty-first century.During the course of the modern Omani Renaissance, SAF's three components ( the Royal Army of Oman, the Royal Air Force of Oman, the Royal Navy of Oman in addition to the Royal Guard of Oman ) made many achievements in various aspects of armament, training, organizational, modern technology and manpower development, which made it a newly organized military force that includes among its ranks the elements of modern combined arms operations.

The Sultan’s Armed Forces were reorganized in 1987, and the position of Chief of Defence Staff was changed to the position of Chief of Staff of the Sultan’s Armed Forces. The same year witnessed the creation of the rank of Minister in the organizational structure of the Ministry of Defence under the name of the Minister of State for Defence Affairs, His Majesty Sultan Qaboos bin Said- May God rest his soul -  remained the Minister of Defence. This was followed by another change two years later, where the position of Minister of State for Defence Affairs was replaced in January 1989 with the position of Secretary General at the Ministry of Defence with the rank of Minister.

In October 1996, the position of Deputy Prime Minister for Security and Defence Affairs was abolished and a new position was created in November of the same year, the position of Minister responsible for defence affairs. The position of Secretary-General at the Ministry of Defence was abolished and replaced by the position of Undersecretary of the Ministry of Defence, and on January 16, 2014, the position of Secretary-General in the Ministry of Defence was restored again. However, on March 9, 2020, the position of the Minister responsible for Defence Affairs was abolished to be replaced by the position of Deputy Prime Minister for Defence Affairs, which is currently occupied by His Highness Sayyid Shihab bin Tariq bin Taimur Al Said.

Today, the Sultan's Armed Forces, based on their motto, which they will never deviate from (belief in God, loyalty to the Sultan, defence of the homeland), is one of the main pillars in the majestic building of the modern Omani Renaissance, thanks to the high and generous patronage of His Majesty the Sultan, the Supreme Commander - may God protect and preserve him - Its members are dedicated to maintaining the security and stability of beloved Oman.

تضطلع وزارة الدفاع بتنفيذ السياسة الدفاعية لقوات السلطان المسلحة منطلقة في ذلك من الفكر المستنير والتوجيهات السامية لمولانا حضرة صاحب الجلالة السلطان هيثم بن طارق المعظم القائد الأعلى– حفظه الله ورعاه – من خلال خطط مدروسة وتخطيط واع، وبما يمكنها من أداء دورها في مسيرة التنمية الشاملة بالبلاد، وبما يتفق والمهام المنوطة بها لحماية ثرى ومقدسات هذا الوطن الغالي العزيز والسهر على منجزاته الخالدة، وذلك إيماناً أن التنمية لا بد لها من سياج منيع يحميها ويهيىء لها مجال الازدهار والتقدم وأن دعائم الأمن والأمان والاستقرار والسلام مرهونة ببناء قوة عسكرية على مستوى عال من الكفاءة والجاهزية الدفاعية قادرة على الذود عن حمى الوطن وصون مقدساته والمساهمة في مسيرة البناء والرخاء والازدهار .

      لقد حرص جلالة السلطان المعظم – حفظه الله ورعاه – منذ توليه مقاليد الحكم في البلاد بتاريخ 11يناير 2020م على رعاية قوات جلالته المسلحة بما يكفل استمرارها في أداء واجباتها المقدسة بكفاءة قتالية عالية وفق قاعدة تعتمد في مقامها الأول على بناء الإنسان وتأهيله التأهيل الأمثل ليقوم بدوره المنوط به في هذه القوات التي أعيد هيكلتها وفق الأسس الحديثة المعاصرة، وأصبح التطور والتحديث هدفا تم التخطيط له وفق أسس وثوابت استراتيجية ووطنية لمواكبة متطلبات الألفية الثالثة وتحديات القرن الحادي والعشرين وبما يحقق النمو والازدهار لخير الوطن والمواطن انطلاقاً من شعارها الذي لن تحيد عنه أبداً (الإيمان بالله، الولاء للسلطان، الذود عن الوطن) مما مكَنها أن تكون اليوم أحد الأعمدة الرئيسية في البناء الشامخ للنهضة العُمانية الحديثة ، حيث تحقق لفروعها الثلاثة (الجيش السلطاني العماني، وسلاح الجو السلطاني العماني، والبحرية السلطانية العمانية، إضافة إلى الحرس السلطاني العُماني) خلال مسيرة النهضة العُمانية الحديثة الكثير من الإنجازات في مختلف الجوانب التسليحية والتدريبية والتنظيمية والتقنية الحديثة وتنمية القوى البشرية .

      وقد أعيد تنظيم قوات السلطان المسلحة في عـــام 1987م، وتم تغيير منصب رئيس أركان الدفاع إلى منصب رئيس أركان قوات السلطان المسلحة، كما تم في العام نفسه استحداث درجة وزير في تنظيم وزارة الدفاع، في خطوة توافقية مع سائر وزارات الدولة. وظل صاحب الجلالة السلطان قابوس بن سعيد المعظم – طيب الله ثراه - يحتفظ بمنصب وزير الدفاع، بينما أطلق على المنصب (المستحدث في حينه) وزير الدولة لشؤون الدفاع، ثم تبع هذا التنظيم تغيير آخر بعد سنتين فاستبدل منصب وزير الدولة لشؤون الدفاع في يناير 1989م بمسمى الأمين العام بوزارة الدفاع بدرجة وزير.

       وفي أكتوبر 1996م تم إلغاء منصب نائب رئيس الوزراء لشؤون الأمن والدفاع وتم استحداث منصب جديد في نوفمبر من العام ذاته وهو الوزير المسؤول عن شؤون الدفاع، وتم إلغاء منصب الأمين العام بوزارة الدفاع وحل محله منصب وكيل وزارة الدفاع، وفي 16 يناير 2014م أعيد منصب الأمين العام بوزارة الدفاع مرة أخرى، وفي 9مارس 2020م تم إلغاء منصب الوزير المسؤول عن شؤون الدفاع ليحل محله منصب نائب رئيس الوزراء لشؤون الدفاع، ويشغله حاليا صاحب السمو السيد شهاب بن طارق بن تيمور آل سعيد.

      وتعد قوات السلطان المسلحة اليوم صرحاً حضارياً كبيراً ومنجزاً خالداً يتفانى منتسبوه بذلاً وعطاء للحفاظ على أمن واستقرار ربوع عُمان الغالية، بفضل الرعاية السامية الكريمة لحضرة صاحب الجلالة السلطان المعظم القائد الأعلى – حفظه الله ورعاه – مما جعلها قوة عسكرية حديثة التنظيم والتسليح تضم بين صفوفها كافة عناصر عمليات الأسلحة المشتركة الحديثة، وتتمتع بقدرة وكفاءة قتالية عالية تحرس أمن الوطن وتحفظ حماه وترابه الغالي.